5 Stages of Tooth Decay

Do you love to eat candies and acidic juices? If you consume sugary and acidic foods and drinks in an excessive amount, it can be detrimental to your oral health. Your tooth can decay since bacteria and plaque turn sugars into acid and feed on them. The acids produced by bacteria damage teeth and lead to cavities, tooth abscesses, and even tooth loss. You can visit the dentist in San Diego, CA for a regular check-up and cleaning to learn about your condition. After all, tooth decay occurs when plaque is left unremoved.

Different stages of tooth decay

Tooth decay develops in different stages. First, it starts with removing the minerals from your teeth. Later on, it attacks the enamel and dentin layer and goes to the pulp. Once it reaches the pulp, decay has progressed into an abscess that is dangerous to your oral and general health.

Plaque is the main contributor to tooth decay. Food debris, saliva, and bacteria combine to form a biofilm covering your tooth surface. It progresses into tartar over time if you don’t remove it. When it turns into tartar, it’s difficult to remove it, so you should visit your dentist immediately.

That being said, here are five stages of tooth decay.

Stage 1: Demineralization

When you don’t floss and brush your teeth and observe poor dental hygiene, bacteria and food debris become plaque. The enamel is your body’s hardest tissue, consisting of minerals. The plaque robs the minerals by attacking the enamel with its acids. This robbing of minerals is called demineralization. If that’s the case for you, white spots on your tooth will appear.

Stage 2: Enamel damage

Your tooth enamel is in great danger if demineralization isn’t stopped. The white spots that you noticed earlier will soon turn into darker spots, and you may start to see cavities and small holes in your teeth. You can fill the holes with dental fillings before the condition worsens.

Stage 3: Dentin decay

After damaging the enamel, the bad guys will reach your tooth’s inner layer called the dentist. The bacteria and plaque had already damaged enamel – the most challenging part to infiltrate. Rest is easy for them to infect and damage. This part of your tooth is softer and more prone to infection. This is where you’ll start experiencing severe tooth sensitivity and faster decay advancement.

Stage 4: Nerve damage

Your tooth contains pulp underneath the dentist with blood vessels and nerves responsible for keeping your teeth healthy. When this part of your tooth decays, the patient will experience severe pain, irritation, and swelling. The only option left for treatment is to undergo a root canal procedure.

Stage 5: Abscess

When the bacteria enter the pulp and cause infection, it leads to dental abscess or puss. At this point, your general health and wellness are at risk. That’s because the infection can reach your face, jaw, lungs, or brain. If that’s the case for you, immediately go to your oral surgeon. Otherwise, the abscess will penetrate other body parts and even cause death.

For more information call us at (858) 999-8550. or visit our website https://nimmishinedental.com/locations/san-diego/